Meeting of the Interagency Pain Research Coordinating Committee NIH Campus Building 31—6th Floor, C Wing, Conference Room 10 Bethesda, Maryland October 31, 2016

AGENDA

8:30 a.m.	Call to Order and Welcome
	<i>Walter Koroshetz, M.D., Director, NINDS and Chair, IPRCC</i> Welcome Remarks Introduction of Pending New Committee Members Highlighted Pain Research Advances
9:25 a.m.	Approval of the Minutes of the December 3, 2015 IPRCC Meeting <i>Linda Porter, Ph.D., Director, Office of Pain Policy, NINDS and</i> <i>Designated Federal Official, IPRCC</i>
9:30 a.m.	The National Pain Strategy
	Thomas Novotny, M.D., M.P.H., Deputy Assistant Secretary of Health and Human Services Implementation of the National Pain Strategy
10:00 a.m.	BREAK
10:30 a.m.	Progress on NPS deliverables <i>Linda Porter, Ph.D.</i> IPRCC website HP 2020, 2030 CoEPEs The Secretary's Research Agenda on Pain and Opioids
10:50 a.m.	Christopher Jones, Pharm. D., M.P.H., Director, Division of Science Policy, Office of the Assistant Secretary for Planning and Evaluation, Treatment Coverage for Acute and Chronic Low Back Pain: A Pilot Study
11:15 a.m.	Ric Ricciardi, Ph.D., C.R.N.P., Director, Division of Practice Improvement at Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, IPRCC Member AHRQ Systematic Review on Non-Pharmacological Pain Management
11:40 a.m.	<i>Catherine Underwood, Chief Executive Officer, American Pain Society, IPRCC Member</i> The American Pain Society's Funding Announcement for the NPS Objectives
12:00 p.m.	LUNCH

1:00 p.m.	The Federal Pain Research Strategy
	Allan Basbaum, Ph.D., University of California San Francisco, Co-chair FPRS Steering Committee, IPRCC Member Processes and Progress of the FPRS Work Groups
1:20 p.m.	Roger Fillingim, Ph.D. University of Florida, and Cheryl Stucky, Ph.D., Medical College of Wisconsin, Co-Chairs Disparities Disparities Work Group Priorities
1:35 p.m.	Robert Gatchel, Ph.D., University of Texas Arlington, Co-Chair Prevention Prevention Work Group Priorities
1:50 p.m.	<i>Christine Miaskowski, R.N., Ph.D., Co-Chair Acute Pain</i> Acute Pain Work Group Priorities
2:05 p.m.	Ted Price, Ph.D., University of Texas San Antonio, Co-Chair Transition from Acute to Chronic Pain Transition Work Group Priorities
2:20 p.m.	Seddon Savage, M.D., Geisel School of Medicine Dartmouth College, Co-Chair Chronic Pain Work Group Chronic Pain Work Group Priorities
2:35 p.m.	Discussion and Questions
2:55 p.m.	<i>Linda Porter</i> Next Steps for FPRS
3:05 p.m.	BREAK
3:35 p.m.	Penny Mohr, M.A., Senior Program Officer, Patient Centered Outcomes Research Institute PCORI and Pain Research
4:00 p.m.	Joni Rutter, Ph.D. Director, Division of Programs and Strategic Implementation, NIDA The Precision Medicine Initiative, Opportunities for Pain Research
4:30 p.m.	Public Comment Period
4:45 p.m.	Adjournment